New York TV and Movie Tour

Posted on

Happy Sunday 🙂 Today started off pretty productive! Ian and I woke up early (for us) around 8 45am.  We were hoping to get to the gym earlier to get a workout in before Ian’s basketball game later in the afternoon.  (Trust me when I say he was not worried about being worn out for these games).

Today’s workout included:

2o minutes ellipical to start off

weight circuit of the follwing:

assisted pull ups & tricep dips

chest fly machine

seated row

Then I ended out my cardio with a 2 mile run on the treadmill.

Next up I did my favorite tone it up bikini body circuit and some abs.

After the workout Ian and I were craving something cold — so smoothies it was!

I love my smoothies in a mug if possible because I can eat them with a spoon! It makes it feel like more of a “meal” to me.

Into the smoothies went approximately the following:

SUNDAY SMOOTHIE:

1 C strawberries

1 banana

1/2 C blueberries

2 heaping tablespoons flax seed (ground up in blender)

1 heaping scoop vegan protein powder

1/4 C pomegranate juice

1/4 C greek yogurt

Splash of unsweetened vanilla Almond Milk

YUMMM!!! This was perfect for today and kept us both pretty satisfied for awhile.  We also brought some pb&j for the road though to eat before/after Ian’s game.

Now, I wanted to give a quick re-cap of our Movie tour yesterday!

It was awesome! The tour latest about 3.5 hours and had about 5 stops along the way where we were able to get out and take some pictures.  While most people on the tour were out-of-towners, Ian and I were def. not the only “new yorkers” on the tour and we learned a lot of tidbits we never would have known if we didn’t have a New York tourist day. 🙂

First stop – Washington Square Park. Known from movies such as When Harry Met Sally, any outdoor filming scenes from Sesame Street, Barefoot in the Park.  I can’t remember the rest, but obv. it is a pretty popular area!

(Not the best photo but what can you do)

2nd Stop – Ghostbusters Fire House. Self-explanatory I think 😉 And right next to this firehouse was a street they call “Millionaires Mile” — I guess they basically gut out a lot of the buildings there and make huge spacious lofts inside that sell for millions – attracting all sorts of celeb types. You would honestly have no idea though from looking at the outside — lots of it looks kind of worn down.

Ian being a tourist standing alone

 

Millionaire's Mile /street

3rd Stop – This might have been SOHO which I actually didn’t picture because we just were dropped off to shop for 25 minutes…that was dangerous.

4th Stop – Cosby house!! While the show said they lived in Brooklyn, the house was actually in the city! We learned that on the show the Cosby’s always would take a right turn when they walked in the house…but in real life they would just run into that white house next door.  They even filmed the house next door just kind of assuming nobody would catch on (or care?) I guess. This street actually had lots of famous door steps! Including an Audrey Hepburn movie I can’t remember the name of. (so much for that)

TOTALLY Theo's handwriting

5th Stop – The Friends Apartment Building!!! If you notice on the bottom of the building it is NOT green like Central Perk is supposed to be, which is because Central Perk exists in Hollywood land.  Anyway, it was cool to see the exterior none the less!

I'll be there for youuuu

Along the way the tour guide also handed out some goodies for Trivia games! Of course, Movie Buff Ian knew lots of answers and after awhile had to stop answering because we were in cookie overload. These are black and white cookies like in Seinfeld — obtainable at pretty much any bodega or grocery store, but still special.

Black and White Cookie

The tour included LOTS of other places and movie facts, far too much to document completely! It all ended at this bar…

Inspiration for the bar “McClarens” in How I Met Your Mother.  Pretty cool!  Ian and I ended our day with 2 of these:

margaritas!

Margaritas were calling our names!! It was just too darn hot to NOT order drinks.  And after that we called it a day! haha We walked to the book store and I picked up a new book which I will have to share on here…I’m sad to say The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo is still on the back burner for me.

Ok, off to spend the rest of the night curled up with a book and Ian 🙂

Night!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About ieatalmonds

My name is Briana, I'm 25 years old - living and working full time in New York City. This blog is a way to share my interests in healthy living, working out, fashion, food, and enjoying life. I'm a Cali girl at heart with a huge love of the ocean and an active lifestyle, now trying to make my mark by sharing what I love.

One response »

  1. That sounded like a fun tour Bri! You are a great tour guide yourself. What that means is I could actually ‘see’ with your words and pics – very nice! Thank you!

    Reply

Leave a comment